TKR v GAW 1st T20: TV Guide, Preview, Prediction, Possible XI, Squads

TKR v GAW 1st T20: TV Guide, Preview, Prediction, Possible XI, Squads

The 1st T20 match of the Caribbean Premier League 2020 between Trinbago Knight Riders v Guyana Amazon Warriors on August 18 at Brian Lara Stadium, Tarouba in Trinidad; the match starts at 02:00 PM GMT. CPL 2020 will begin with three-time champions Trinbago Knight Riders taking on five-time finalists Guyana Amazon Warriors on August 18.

Date: August 18, 2020
Match: Trinbago Knight Riders vs Guyana Amazon Warriors, 1st T20
Venue: Brian Lara Stadium, Tarouba, Trinidad
Time: 07:30 PM IST, 02:00 PM GMT, 10:00 AM LOCAL

Prediction: Our prediction is that Guyana Amazon Warriors likely to win the game.

  • Both teams have a strong batting lineup
  • Guyana Amazon Warriors have more explosive power hitter and some quality bowlers to give it a slight edge

Probable XIs

Trinbag Knight Riders: Kieron Pollard (Captain), Lendl Simmons, Colin Munro, Darren Bravo, Tim Seifert (wk), Dwayne Bravo, Sunil Narine, Khary Pierre, Jayden Seales, Pravin Tambe, Anderson Phillip.

Guyana Amazon Warriors: Chris Green (Captain), Brandon King, Chanderpaul Hemraj, Ross Taylor, Shimron Hetmyer, Nicholas Pooran (wk), Odean Smith, Keemo Paul, Sherfane Rutherford, Imran Tahir, Romario Shepherd.

With the Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic scare, the Caribbean Premier League (CPL 2020) is all set to get a kick start on August 18, a delightful tournament for cricket viewers who constantly waiting for the resumption of the cricket since March. The tournament begins on Tuesday, August 18 with the opening match to be played between last year’s runners up Guyana Amazon Warriors and three-time champions Trinbago Knight Riders. As far as numbers are concerned, both teams are pretty close to each other.

Out of 19 head to head meetings, the Knight Riders are leading the Warriors by 10-9. The match is expected to be an absolute thriller as both TKR and GAW have the highest win percentage in the CPL though the latter is yet to win the T20 championship.

The Knight Riders are three-time champions and the most successful CPL team in the tournament. The Warriors have a good mix of good players drawing strength from youth and experience and should be a top draw in the CPL 2020. In the Knight Riders’ side, the likes of Dwayne Bravo, Kieron Pollard, Sunil Narine, Lendl Simmons, and Pravin Tambe, the first Indian cricketer to appear in the CPL. Tambe, a leg-spinner all of 48, has represented Rajasthan Royals, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Gujarat Lions, and Kolkata Knight Riders in the past in the IPL and he will be hoping to parade his skills in the Caribbean. The Warriors too have their stars like Ross Taylor, Imran Tahir, and Nicholas Pooran.

The Trinbago Knight Riders have been one of the tougher sides in the CPL traditionally. They did not have a very well last season the last time around and will be expecting to do much better now that they are actually playing all games at home. For the Trinbago Knight Riders to do fine, its batting needs fire. The form of older players like Lendl Simmons, Darren Bravo, and Kieron Pollard is going to be important. Pollard is one of the greatest batsmen in this format of the game and his consistency has actually increased over the last year or so. Unfortunately, he bats very low and usually does a fire-fighting job rather than setting up the game. Colin Munro, Tim Siefert, and Sikandar Raza are the foreign players, all of whom can support in the batting. Two out of Sunil Narine, Fawad Ahmed, and Khary Pierre are the possible spinners to start CPL 2020 for the Knight Riders with Jayden Seales and maybe Ali Khan to lead the fast bowling. The Trinbago Knight Riders have a lot of expertise but they need to hit the ground running.

A much more youthful side than the Trinbago Knight Riders, the Guyana Amazon Warriors will go into this match as the favorites. The batting is going to consist of the most glorious young stars from the Caribbean. Brandon King, Shimron Hetmyer, Nicholas Pooran, and Sherfane Rutherford are all a part of the team and should be in the starting eleven as well. They also have Ross Taylor in there as well to contribute some establishment and expertise among the explosive batting lineup. All in all, this is one of the toughest batting lineups in CPL 2020. Imran Tahir is going to be the chief bowler for the team. The ageless leg-spinner from South Africa is still a strength to be regarded within T20 cricket and is going to be challenging to score off. He has had some difficulties against Kieron Pollard and so that contest is going to be very entertaining to watch. Keemo Paul, Chris Green, and Romario Shepherd are some of the other bowlers to look out for. The Guyana Amazon Warriors are a young T20 side that is used to victory. They will come into this match presuming nothing less than a win.

Guyana Amazon Warriors Squad: Imran Tahir, Nicholas Pooran, Chris Green, Brandon King, Ross Taylor, Shimron Hetmyer, Kissoondath Magram, Keemo Paul, Chandrapaul Hemraj, Sherfane Rutherford, Romario Shepherd, Naveen Ul Haq, Kevin Sinclair, Ashmeade Nedd, Odean Smith, Anthony Bramble, Jasdeep Singh

Trinbago Knight Riders Squad: Dwayne Bravo, Kieron Pollard, Sunil Narine, Anderson Phillip, Colin Munro, Fawad Ahmed, Darren Bravo, Lendl Simmons, Amir Jangoo, Khary Pierre, Tim Seifert, Sikandar Raza, Pravin Tambe, Jayden Seales, Tion Webster, Akeal Hosein, Muhammad Ali Khan

Where to watch Live on TV and Where to Live Stream CPL 2020 Matches

  • India: Star Sports, Hotstar, FanCode
  • USA: Willow TV
  • UK: Sky Sports
  • Australia: Fox Sports
  • New Zealand: SKY Sport NZ
  • Caribbean: SportsMax TV
  • Canada: Dazn
  • South Africa: SuperSport

About League: The 2020 Caribbean Premier League (CPLT20) will be the eighth season of the Caribbean Premier League, the domestic Twenty20 cricket league in the West Indies. However, due to the COVID-19 pandemic, a request was made in June 2020 to play all of the matches in Trinidad. The tournament is scheduled to start from 18 August and end on 10 September 2020. The local government gave its approval for the tournament to go ahead, with all the matches taking place at two venues behind closed doors.

To Top