T Natarajan to replace Umesh Yadav in India’s Test squad, Rohit Sharma named Vice-captain

T Natarajan to replace Umesh Yadav in India’s Test squad

Umesh Yadav sustained a strain in his left calf muscle on Day 3 of the second Border-Gavaskar Test in Melbourne which India won by eight wickets, a historic win. He underwent scans later in the day. The fast bowler will not recover completely ahead of the remaining two Test matches and has been ruled out of the series.

The All-India Senior Selection Committee has named T Natarajan as Yadav’s replacement. Ahead of the Boxing Day Test, Shardul Thakur was added to the Test squad as Mohd. Shami’s replacement after the senior fast bowler suffered a hairline fracture in his right forearm. Both Shami and Umesh Yadav will head to the National Cricket Academy in Bengaluru for further rehabilitation of their injuries.

Rohit Sharma has completed his quarantine and has now joined the Indian Cricket Team in Melbourne, he also named vice-captain in place of Cheteshwar Pujara.

Team India Test squad: Ajinkya Rahane (Captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), Mayank Agarwal, Prithvi Shaw, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Hanuma Vihari, Shubman Gill, Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Jasprit Bumrah, Navdeep Saini, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, R. Ashwin, Md. Siraj, Shardul Thakur, T Natarajan

Australia Squad for 3rd and 4th Tests: Tim Paine (c), Sean Abbott, Pat Cummins, Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Moises Henriques, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Michael Neser, James Pattinson, Will Pucovski, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, Matthew Wade, David Warner

Remainder of series

Date: January 07 – January 11, 2020
Match: India vs Australia, 3rd Test
Venue: Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney
Time: 05:00 AM IST, 11:30 PM GMT, 10:30 AM LOCAL

Date: January 15 – January 19, 2020
Match: India vs Australia, 3rd Test
Venue: The Gabba, Brisbane
Time: 05:00 AM IST, 11:30 PM GMT, 10:30 AM LOCAL

India bounced back in the series in some style as they beat Australia by eight wickets to win the second Test at the Melbourne Cricket Ground, India level the series with this victory, and now all focus on the remaining two games. Rohit Sharma is also available in the remainder of the series. India have an opportunity to lead the series if they dominate the Australian side in the upcoming third game, with India have plus point with having Rohit Sharma back, Australia team also boosted by the return of their regular opener David Warner, who likely to play the third game if completely fit before 3rd test. Warner who is yet to fully recover from a groin injury still unsure of playing in Sydney Test.

Australian opener David Warner and seamer Sean Abbott were both injured with Warner recovering from a groin injury and Abbott nursing a calf strain. Pucovski, who was in line for a debut in the first Test against India had been ruled out after suffering a concussion in the practice match. With all three expected to be fit by the third Test, Australia have strengthened their squad for the final two Tests in Sydney and Brisbane.

To Top