Pakistan name 17-Member shortlist for England T20Is

Pakistan name 17-Member shortlist for England T20Is

Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) have named the 17 members who have made the shortlist for the side’s upcoming T20I series against England. The series, which will consist of three matches, begins on Friday, 28 August with all three games to be played at Old Trafford in Manchester.

Babar Azam will lead the side, which includes a mix of experience and youth. At 39 years old, Mohammad Hafeez is the oldest member of the squad while Naseem Shah, more than 20 years Hafeez’s junior, is the youngest.

As well as Babar and Naseem, Mohammad Rizwan, Shadab Khan, and Shaheen Afridi are also included having played in the Test series between the teams. Pakistan’s T20I side were last in action against Bangladesh in January this year, when they secured a 2-0 series win, with Shoaib Malik, Babar Azam, and Mohammad Hafeez all collecting half-centuries.

Pakistan T20 Squad: Babar Azam (c), Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Amir, Naseem Shah, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Afridi, Shoaib Malik, Wahab Riaz.

Vitality T20 Series

Date: August 29, 2020
Match: Pakistan vs England, 1st T20I
Venue: Headingley, Leeds
Time: 09:30 PM IST, 04:00 PM GMT, 05:00 PM LOCAL

Date: August 31, 2020
Match: Pakistan vs England, 2nd T20I
Venue: Sophia Gardens, Cardiff
Time: 07:00 PM IST, 01:30 PM GMT, 02:30 PM LOCAL

Date: September 02, 2020
Match: Pakistan vs England, 3rd T20I
Venue: The Rose Bowl, Southampton
Time: 11:00 PM IST, 05:30 PM GMT, 06:30 PM LOCAL

England National Selectors also named a 14-strong team for the men’s three Vitality T20s against Pakistan starting on Friday 28 August at Emirates Old Trafford. The three-match series will be played behind closed doors, in a bio-secure environment at the Manchester venue. The Eoin Morgan-led side features a brand-new look as the selectors have opted against selecting those who are currently engaged in the Test series as part of workload management. While there aren’t any uncapped players in the squad, the likes of Tom Banton, Joe Denly, Saqib Mahmood and Lewis Gregory, who have played only a handful of T20I matches, will get an opportunity to make a mark. Squad of 14-man named for three-match series to be played in a bio-secure environment at Emirates Old Trafford. In addition to Morgan, the other experienced members include Jonny Bairstow, Moeen Ali, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, David Willey, and Chris Jordan among others. All three Vitality T20Is will be played at Old Trafford between 28 August and 1 September. England have also named Pat Brown, Liam Livingstone, and Reece Topley as reserves.

England Men’s IT20 Squad

Eoin Morgan (Middlesex) (captain), Moeen Ali (Worcestershire), Jonathan Bairstow (Yorkshire), Tom Banton (Somerset), Sam Billings (Kent), Tom Curran (Surrey), Joe Denly (Kent), Lewis Gregory (Somerset), Chris Jordan (Sussex), Saqib Mahmood (Lancashire), Dawid Malan (Yorkshire), Adil Rashid (Yorkshire), Jason Roy (Surrey), David Willey (Yorkshire)

Reserves: Pat Brown (Worcestershire), Liam Livingstone (Lancashire), Reece Topley (Surrey).

To Top