Mohammad Amir retires from international cricket

Mohammad Amir retires from international cricket

Fast bowler Mohammad Amir has pass on to the Pakistan Cricket Board his decision to retire from international cricket. Although no reason was specified, a media release from the board revealed that the 28-year-old informed the PCB Chief Executive Wasim Khan that “he has no desires or intentions of playing international cricket and as such, he should not be considered for future international matches.”

Amir has played 30 Tests, 61 ODIs, and 50 T20Is in his international career, picking up a total of 259 international wickets. His last appearance for Pakistan came in the T20I series against England in August earlier this year. Earlier this year, Amir had been left out of the Pakistan men’s team central contract list. However, he played the T20I series in England when cricket resumed inside the bio-bubble.

Amir retired from Test cricket in July last year in order to focus on white-ball cricket, a decision that was subsequently slammed by then Pakistan head coach Waqar Younis who felt his team was shortchanged by Amir’s decision on the tour of Australia. At the time, he had cited that he wanted to “manage workload” to extend his career.

According to PCB official website: Pakistan Cricket Board chief executive Wasim Khan spoke with Mohammad Amir this afternoon following reports that the fast bowler had announced his retirement from international cricket. The 28-year-old confirmed to the PCB chief executive that he has no desires or intensions of playing international cricket and as such, he should not be considered for future international matches. This is a personal decision of Mohammad Amir, which the PCB respects, and as such, will not make any further comment on this matter at this stage.

Pakistan speedster Mohammad Amir participated in the recently completed Lankan Premier League, now he is picked up by Pune Devi’s to play in the Abu Dhabi T10 League. The left-arm pacer has signed up with Pune Devils for the upcoming edition of the tournament. T10 League’s official page confirmed the news on Twitter on Wednesday. Karnataka Tuskers have been renamed as Pune Devils.

Cricket viewers around the world can also catch all the latest updates via SportsNar’s Facebook Page, Twitter Account, Instagram Account, and YouTube Channel.

To Top