Jacob Duffy shines in his debue game

Jacob Duffy shines in his debue game

A four-wicket haul from Jacob Duffy (4/33) in his debue game, And the 26-year-old justified his selection with three wickets in his opening spell inside the powerplay, and solid knocks from Tim Seifert (57) and Mark Chapman (34) helped New Zealand take a 1-0 lead against Pakistan in the first match of the T20I series at Eden Park in Auckland. New Zealand lost Martin Guptill early on with Shadab Khan taking a stunner, running back from mid-off. Rauf added to the hosts’ troubles when he held onto a good catch off his won bowling to send Devon Conway on his way. However, Glenn Phillips and Seifert gave the innings stability after the Powerplay overs, taking spinners Shadab and birthday boy Imad Wasim for a six apiece in their respective overs.

After opting for bat, Pakistan top four departs for 20, Hafeez and Shafique back to pavilion without scoring a single run, at a time, Pakistan lost their five wickets for 39. Pakistan vice captain and stand in skipper took charge of inning along with Khushdil, Imad Wasim, and Faheem Ashraf to take the team a defendable total of 153.

Brief scores: Pakistan 153/9 in 20 overs (Shadab Khan 42, Faheem Ashraf 31; Jacob Duffy 4-33, Scott Kuggeleijn 3-27) lost to New Zealand 156/5 in 18.5 overs (Tim Siefert 57, Mark Chapman 34; Haris Rauf 3-29, Shaheen Afridi 2-27) by five wickets.

Date: December 18, 2020
Match: Pakistan vs New Zealand, 1st T20I
Venue: Eden Park, Auckland
Time: 11:30 AM IST, 06:00 AM GMT, 07:00 PM LOCAL

New Zealand 1st T20I Squad: Mitchell Santner (c), Todd Astle, Doug Bracewell, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Jacob Duffy, Martin Guptill, Scott Kuggeleijn , Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Tim Seifert (wk), Ish Sodhi, Blair Tickner

Pakistan T20I Squad: Shadab Khan (captain), Abdullah Shafique, Faheem Ashraf, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Hussain Talat, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Musa Khan, Mohammad Rizwan, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Usman Qadir, and Wahab Riaz, Babar Azam

Playing XI’s

PAK: Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Abdullah Shafique, Haider Ali, Mohammad Hafeez, Shadab Khan (c), Khushdil Shah, Imad Wasim, Faheem Ashraf, Wahab Riaz, Shaheen Afridi, Haris Rauf

NZ: Martin Guptill, Tim Seifert (wk), Devon Conway, Glenn Phillips, James Neesham, Mitchell Santner (c), Mark Chapman, Scott Kuggeleijn, Ish Sodhi, Jacob Duffy, Blair Tickner

Cricket viewers around the world can also catch all the latest updates via SportsNar’s Facebook Page, Twitter Account, Instagram Account, and YouTube Channel.

To Top