ICC revealed full schedule for Women’s Cricket World Cup 2022

ICC revealed full schedule for Women’s Cricket World Cup 2022

International Cricket Council (ICC) unveiled complete fixtures of the Women’s cricket World Cup 2022 that will be hosted by New Zealand from March 04 to till April 03. New Zealand, Australia, England, South Africa and India have qualified for the tournament. The three remaining teams will emerge from the ICC qualifying tournament which is confirmed to take place 26 June – 10 July 2021 in Sri Lanka. The tournament was postponed from its original window in February-March 2021 with the same six host cities and venues retained for 2022.

The eight-team tournament will played in single round-robin format which will see all teams play each other once with the top four teams qualifying for semi-finals. The ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2022 will be the first of two major cricket tournaments across the world in 2022. Prize money for the event will total NZD$5.5million, and all matches will be broadcast live to a huge global audience

ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2022 fixtures:

  • Hosted in New Zealand from 4 March to 3 April, 2022
  • Tournament features Eight nations, 31 matches, and 6 host cities: Auckland, Hamilton, Tauranga, Wellington, Christchurch, Dunedin

Tournament fixtures by venue: denotes day/night

Bay Oval, Tauranga

  • 04 Mar 2022: New Zealand v Qualifier
  • 06 Mar 2022: Qualifier v India
  • 08 Mar 2022: Australia v Qualifier
  • 11 Mar 2022: Qualifier v South Africa
  • 14 Mar 2022: South Africa v England
  • 16 Mar 2022: England v India
  • 18 Mar 2022: Qualifier v Qualifier

University Oval, Dunedin

  • 05 Mar 2022: Qualifier v South Africa
  • 07 Mar 2022: New Zealand v Qualifier
  • 09 Mar 2022: Qualifier v England

Seddon Park, Hamilton

  • 05 Mar 2022: Australia v England
  • 10 Mar 2022: New Zealand v India
  • 12 Mar 2022: Qualifier v India
  • 14 Mar 2022: Qualifier v Qualifier
  • 17 Mar 2022: New Zealand v South Africa
  • 21 Mar 2022: Qualifier v Qualifier
  • 22 Mar 2022: India v Qualifier

Basin Reserve, Wellington

  • 13 Mar 2022 New Zealand v Australia
  • 15 Mar 2022 Australia v Qualifier
  • 22 Mar 2022 South Africa v Australia
  • 24 Mar 2022 South Africa v Qualifier
  • 25 Mar 2022 Qualifier v Australia
  • 27 Mar 2022 England v Qualifier
  • 30 Mar 2022 Semi-Final 1

Eden Park, Auckland

  • 19 Mar 2022: India v Australia
    20 Mar 2022: New Zealand v England

Hagley Oval, Christchurch

  • 24 Mar 2022 England v Qualifier
  • 26 Mar 2022 New Zealand v Qualifier
  • 27 Mar 2022 India v South Africa
  • 31 Mar 2022 Semi-Final 2
  • 03 Apr 2022 FINAL

Highlights of the match schedule announced  include (as shared by ICC):

A bumper opening match in Tauranga featuring the WHITE FERNS and a qualifier on Friday, 4 March. Tauranga also hosts the rematch of the 2017 Women’s Cricket World Cup final at Lord’s with England up against India on Wednesday, 16 March. Dunedin’s University Oval, the home of global superstar Suzie Bates, to host three pool matches, with reigning champions England, hometown favourites, the WHITE FERNS and South Africa on show.

Hamilton’s Seddon Park will host seven pool matches, with staunch rivals Australia and England kicking off the city’s matches. India and South Africa will both take on the host nation’s WHITE FERNS in Hamilton. The iconic Basin Reserve will host a Trans-Tasman showdown between Australia and New Zealand on Sunday, 13 March, as well as five other pool matches and the first semi-final of the tournament

A massive double-header weekend in Auckland sees India taking on Australia on Saturday, 19 March, before the WHITE FERNS face England the following day. Christchurch to host the final on 3 April under lights at Hagley Oval on the back of three pool matches and a semi-final.

ICC CEO, Manu Sawhney said: “The ICC has made a long-term commitment to elevating women’s cricket as part of our strategy to grow and develop the global game. We want to build a sustainable foundation for women’s cricket. It is about building a product that fans want to watch, that kids want to take up, that sponsors and broadcasters want to be part of. This schedule takes the world’s best cricketers across New Zealand and can help inspire a generation of girls and boys to take up the game. We are extremely proud of the significant progress we have made in increasing prize money for ICC events over the last few years, with the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2022 in New Zealand having $NZD5.5 million dollars available in prize money, an increase of almost 60% on 2017 and more than 1000% compared to 2013.

ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup CEO Andrea Nelson said: Our team is proud to be delivering a tournament where Kiwis across the whole country, in each of our six host cities, can really get involved in what is a truly special event. We can’t wait to see the excitement build around New Zealand as we prepare to roll out the welcome mat for the rest of the world. Major events like this one are all about creating a genuine legacy for the sport and we are proud to say our tournament was the catalyst for the installation of the Hagley Oval lights. I’d like to thank the New Zealand Government and the Canterbury Cricket Trust for making that happen.

Cricket viewers around the world can also catch all the latest updates via SportsNar’s Facebook Page, Twitter Account, Instagram Account, and YouTube Channel.

To Top