BCCI announces squads, Fixtures for Women’s T20 Challenge

BCCI announces squads, Fixtures for Women’s T20 Challenge

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announces Harmanpreet Kaur, Smriti Mandhana and Mithali Raj as captains of Supernovas, Trailblazers and Velocity respectively for the upcoming women’s T20 Challengers. The three teams will compete in the upcoming Women’s T20 Challenge to be played from 4th November to 9th November in the UAE. Australian stars will miss out on the four-match tournament to be held from November 4 to 9 as the dates clash with the Women’s Big Bash League (WBBL).

The best of Indian women’s cricket will combine with some of the leading stars from England, South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies, Bangladesh and New Zealand in a four-match tournament. Thailand’s Natthakan Chantham, who scored her country’s first Women’s T20 World Cup half-century, adds another feather to her cap as she will become the first Thai cricketer to feature in the tournament.

Two Bangladesh cricketers – Jahanara Alam and Salma – will be part of the tournament for Velocity and Trailblazers respectively. Bangladesh Women’s T20 skipper Salma Khatun said that she was surprised to get a chance to feature in the upcoming edition of the Women’s T20 Challenge 2020. Touhid Mahmud, the BCB women’s team wing manager, said that the pair will have COVID tests done on October 14 and 19, while they are expected to fly out to UAE on October 21.

The All-India Women’s Selection Committee picked the three squads.

Supernovas Squad: Harmanpreet Kaur (C), Jemimah Rodrigues (VC), Chamari Atapattu, Priya Punia, Anuja Patil, Radha Yadav, Taniya Bhatia (WK), Shashikala Siriwardene, Poonam Yadav, Shakera Selman, Arundhati Reddy, Pooja Vastrakar, Ayushi Soni, Ayabonga Khaka, Muskan Malik

Trailblazers Squad: Smriti Mandhana (C), Deepti Sharma (VC), Punam Raut, Richa Ghosh, D. Hemalatha, Nuzhat Parween (WK), Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Harleen Deol, Jhulan Goswami, Simaran Dil Bahadur, Salma Khatun, Sophie Ecclestone, Natthakan Chantham, Deandra Dottin, Kashvee Gautam

Velocity Squad: Mithali Raj (C), Veda Krishnamurthy (VC), Shafali Verma, Sushma Verma (WK), Ekta Bisht, Mansi Joshi, Shikha Pandey, Devika Vaidya, Sushree Dibyadarshini, Manali Dakshini, Leigh Kasperek, Danielle Wyatt, Sun Luus, Jahanara Alam, M Anagha

IPL Women’s T20 Challenge Schedule

November 04, 2020

  • Supernovas vs Velocity, 7.30 PM IST.

November 05, 2020

  • Velocity vs Trailblazers, 3.30 PM IST.

November 07, 2020

  • Trailblazers vs Supernovas, 7.30 PM IST.

November 11, 2020

  • Final – 7.30 PM IST.

Cricket viewers around the world can also catch all the latest updates via SportsNar’s Facebook Page, Twitter Account, Instagram Account, and YouTube Channel.


To Top