2019-20 State, Big Bash awards winners

2019-20 State, Big Bash awards winners

The Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic shutdown may have made the Australian domestic season short but it hasn’t stopped the best performers being honoured by their states. The end-of-season celebrations across the cricket community were reduced by the coronavirus, while Australia saw the final round of the Marsh Sheffield Shield competition and the subsequent final scrapped.

The best players from Australia’s domestic cricket season have been honoured, with some outstanding performers up in lights. A host of glittering awards ceremonies usually follow but this year it was more a low-key affair with online catch-ups during lockdown instead. With Tasmania the last state to announce all their award winners last month, here are the full list of winners from the Shield, Marsh One-Day Cup, Rebel WBBL 05 and KFB BBL 09 seasons as well as the Women’s National Cricket League:

New South Wales

Steve Waugh Medal: Daniel Hughes
Belinda Clark Medal: Rene Farrell
Sheffield Shield MVP: Harry Conway
Marsh Cup MVP: Daniel Hughes
NSW Breakers MVP: Rene Farrell

Sydney Sixers

WBBL 05 MVP: Marizanne Kapp
BBL09 MVP: Josh Philippe

Sydney Thunder

WBBL 05 Alex Blackwell Medal: Hannah Darlington
BBL09 Mike Hussey Medal: Daniel Sams


Ian Healy Trophy: Michael Neser
Queensland Fire MVP: Sammy-Jo Johnson
Sheffield Shield MVP: Michael Neser
Marsh Cup MVP: Usman Khawaja
Brisbane Heat WBBL 05 MVP: Jess Jonassen
Brisbane Heat BBL 09 MVP: Matthew Renshaw

South Australia

Neil Dansie Medal: Wes Agar
Andrea McCauley Medal: Tahlia McGrath
Lord Hampden Trophy (Shield): Wes Agar
Marsh Cup MVP: Callum Ferguson
Adelaide Strikers WBBL 05 MVP: Sophie Devine
Adelaide Strikers BBL 09 MVP: Jon Wells


Ricky Ponting Medal: Jackson Bird
Tigers Women’s MVP: Maisy Gibson
David Boon Medal (Shield MVP): Jackson Bird
Jack Simmons Medal (Marsh Cup MVP): Jackson Bird
Hobart Hurricanes WBBL MVP: Belinda Vakarewa
Hobart Hurricanes BBL MVP: D’Arcy Short


Bill Lawry Medal (Shield): Nic Maddinson
Maddinson mauls Blues in blazing SCG century
Sharon Tredrea Award (WNCL): Annabel Sutherland
Marsh Cup MVP: Aaron Finch

Melbourne Renegades

WBBL 05 MVP: Jess Duffin
BBL 09 MVP: Beau Webster

Melbourne Stars

WBBL 05 MVP: Lizelle Lee
BBL 09 MVP: Marcus Stoinis

Western Australia

Laurie Sawle Medal: Shaun Marsh
Zoe Goss Medal: Nicole Bolton
Sheffield Shield MVP: Shaun Marsh
Marsh Cup MVP: Shaun Marsh
Perth Scorchers WBBL MVP: Nat Sciver
Simon Katich Medal (Perth Scorchers BBL MVP): Jhye Richardson

To Top